Salt Lake City school board votes to permanently close 4 elementaries

Salt Lake City School District board members on Tuesday voted to permanently shut down four local elementary schools: Bennion and Hawthorne on the east side, and Mary W. Jackson and Riley on the west.

Before the 4-3 vote, Superintendent Elizabeth Grant thanked parents and community members for coming out to months of meetings to speak up for their schools, showing “remarkable support” for their campuses and teachers.

Change is hard, she added — even good change. But Grant said change is necessary as districts across the state and country continue to lose students.

Read more from The Salt Lake Tribune.


Most Popular