Maine schools approved for 8-player football

A two-division format for eight-player football involving 10 schools that would begin play next fall gained the approval of the Maine Principals’ Association football committee Thursday.

The plan, which next heads to the MPA Classification Committee for its consideration on Feb. 11, will have one division for the five schools with more than 350 students: Ellsworth, Mt. Ararat of Topsham, Yarmouth, Gray-New Gloucester and Maranacook of Readfield.

A second division of eight-player football for schools with 350 or fewer students will be composed of Boothbay Region, Old Orchard Beach, Sacopee Valley of South Hiram, Telstar of Bethel and Traip Academy of Kittery.


Most Popular