2019 GSBA Governance Team of the Year Winner Announced

Wednesday, December 18, 2019 - 6:46 am

Media Contact– Justin Pauly, Director of Communications, 770-962-6843, jpauly@gsba.com

December 4, 2019-The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) is pleased to announce Forsyth County as the winner of the 2019 Governance Team of the Year Award.

This prestigious award is presented annually to one Georgia public school district’s board of education and superintendent who have achieved all-around success in their district.  This recognition is deeply rooted in the components of the Georgia Vision Project’s research-based recommendations for Georgia’s public schools.

These finalists were vetted through a stringent application process and a visit by an impartial review team to vet the information in the application.

“We are so pleased to honor Forsyth County as the Governance Team of the Year. They have exemplified, through work and service, what a high functioning board of education and superintendent look like,” said Frank Griffin, GSBA President and Chair of the Lee County Board of Education.

The winner was announced at the GSBA/GSSA Annual Conference at the Renaissance Waverly Hotel in Atlanta, December 4, 2019, from 7-9 p.m. during a banquet honoring the outstanding governance team finalists.

The winner was chosen by a panel of national experts who perform various leadership roles in the field of public education.

“The opportunity to spotlight good governance best practices is so vitally important. Forsyth sets a high bar of achievement, and there is much we can learn from them. The Georgia School Boards Association always looks forward to annually highlighting quality governance for the benefit of all boards and superintendents around Georgia.” said Valarie Wilson, GSBA Executive Director.

2019 GSBA Governance Team of the Year Finalists

Bleckley County

Columbia County

Dade County

Dawson County

Effingham County

Fayette County

Forsyth County

Jefferson City

Oconee County


For more information on the Governance Team of the Year program click here.