Movers and Shakers: Superintendents tapped for new districts, boost graduation rates, win awards

In the last year, Superintendent Kriner Cash of Buffalo Public Schools in New York decreased class sizes in early grades, and created after-school and weekend programs that provide services for students and families in need. Since becoming superintendent in 2015, Cash has raised the graduation rate from 48% to 65%, and has more than doubled the number of schools that the state considers to be in good standing to 37. The number of schools in jeopardy of closing has dropped from 25 to three.

Aleesia Johnson now officially leads Indianapolis Public Schools. Johnson, who served as interim superintendent, began working for the district as an innovation officer. She will now focus on racial equity, sustainable finances and school-focused central services. She also plans to continue supporting the current operations of charters and Innovation Network Schools, which outside organizations manage and about 25% of students attend. 

Read: Movers and Shakers: School leaders take on student success initiatives, change districts

Ian Saltzman, formerly the regional superintendent of The School District of Palm Beach County in Florida, now leads Everett School District in Washington state. Saltzman previously served numerous Florida schools as principal, during which he raised the ratings of two institutions from D’s to A’s and two others from C’s to B’s. He also oversaw the first school to be taken off the state’s list of schools in jeopardy of closing in one year. Saltzman is a graduate of DA’s National Superintendents Academy.

Superintendent Glenn Maleyko of Dearborn Public Schools has overseen a 95% graduation rate for the Michigan district and a National Blue Ribbon School award for the STEM Middle School. He also developed a rubric and evaluation tool that helped Dearborn reach the ninth percentile nationally for student growth. For his efforts, Maleyko received the Michigan Superintendent of the Year and the Dearborn Area Chamber of Commerce Business Leader of the Year awards.


Most Popular